National Government In The UK

The UK is made up of four nations each with its own form of Government, but ultimate control still lies centrally with Parliament in England. On this page you will find the links to the national Governments responsible for making of UK law.

government uk

Government UK

Central Government Based In England – Parliament UK

Parliament UK is the government with central control for the whole of the United Kingdom – England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It decides the laws for the UK, but has devolved some of its powers to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland – it is exclusively responsible for the laws in England.

Direct Government In The UK

The official UK government website – designed to provide direct online information and assistance to citizens across the UK on matters of legal, economic and social policy.

Northern Ireland Assembly Government

The Northern Ireland Assembly Government was set up as part of the Belfast agreement and uses devolved powers in the UK to decide on laws within its territory. From this site you can assess live coverage of the NI Assembly debates.

Scotland Government

Find out how the Scotland Government uses its devolved powers to make laws across its territory in the UK.

Wales Assembly Government

The Wales Assembly Government can influence UK law and has certain devolved powers across its borders.